Hello….

This is my first post for this blog.  I am not entirely certain if it will continue, but we’ll see.  I have done newsletters, blogs and other types of websites for other people, but never a blog just for myself, directed entirely by myself, on the historical subjects that have consumed my interest and attention for the past several decades.  People who know me understand that I do have a passion for Delmarva African American history, and I would be the first to admit that what I know is just a drop in the bucket of what is out there to know.  But more importantly, my interests are in sharing whatever I find, and to praise others for their finds.

I do have an immediate ulterior motive for this blog, that of the upcoming book I hope to have completed in the next few months.  But I will be on to other topics that had been shelved.  People have been sharing information with me on the interesting histories they have learned.  And I know that the best way to learn is to share.  I brighten whenever someone tells me something new.

My focus is Delmarva African American history, but it is not my only focus.  But histories of people are so satisfying, because you gain new insights about people.  It’s hard for me to understand my own interests in local African American history, other than the fact that it is an undocumented and under appreciated history.  And that history is linked with the histories of everyone else.

IMG_0188I will start this blog with one of my favorite photographs.   It is a photo I took several years at the Webb Cabin  while it was undgoing renovations.  I am rather upset learning that the final renovations covered these beams, these few remaining logs that were originally hewn during the slavery period in Caroline County, Maryland, of a freedman’s house that was/is not far from the site of where Harriet Tubman’s parents once lived.  I remember visiting this spot, being part of a group being given a tour of the renovations.  But I stood mesmerized, staring at the logs, and reached forward to softly run my hand along one of the logs which was hewn so long ago.  Every person should have the opportunity to experience that feeling I had when I ran my fingers where freedmen ran theirs.  So I start my blog, however long it exists, with a close up of some of those logs.  I get that same feeling whenever I am taught something new about this history of the Eastern Shore.

I must apologize to Mike Dixon for stealing his wordpress style; but it is only fitting that I should steal (it’s not really stealing, more of a teasing) his style, because I have so enjoyed his blogs and those of others.  Think of it as a form of flattery.

Linda Duyer, Salisbury, Maryland

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.